Destination List > National Park of American Samoa

National Park of American Samoa

The history...

The National Park of American Samoa was established on October 31, 1988 in the United States territory of American Samoa. The park spans across the three islands of Tutuila, Ofu, and Ta‘ū.

The park preserves and protects coral reefs, tropical rainforests, fruit bats, and the Samoan culture. Popular activities include hiking and snorkeling. Of the park's 8,257 acres, 2,500 acres is coral reefs and ocean. 

The park is the only American National Park Service system unit south of the equator.

Level Up Your Adventures


Get your Duckwyn Passport and keep track of the countries and places you visit. Collect stamps and stickers while earning experience points toward becoming a Legendary World Explorer.

Join Today